Proposition Summary

RETIREMENT BENEFITS FOR NONJUDICIAL AND NONLEGISLATIVE ELECTED STATE CONSTITUTIONAL OFFICERS. LEGISLATIVE CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT. Presently retirement benefits for nonjudicial and nonlegislative elected state constitutional officers are governed by statute and differ depending upon the dates such officers held office. For those who took office prior to October 7, 1974, their retirement benefits have been increased as the compensation paid their successors has increased. This measure amends the Constitution to preclude the retirement benefits of any nonlegislative or nonjudicial elected state constitutional officers from increasing or being affected by changes in compensation payable to their successors on or after November 5, 1986. Summary of Legislative Analyst's estimate of net state and local government fiscal impact: This measure would reduce the future retirement benefits of fewer than 20 people, resulting in annual state savings of about $400,000. The state would realize savings because these retirement benefits would not be adjusted for increases in the salaries of state elected officials due to take effect in January 1987 and in future years.

Proposition Number




Document Type




Legislative Vote Results

Assembly - Ayes, 74; Noes, 0 -- Senate - Ayes, 38; Noes, 0

Popular Vote Results

Y: 4851214; A: 72.7; N: 1820746; B: 27.3

Election Type

General Election

Proposition Type

Senate Constitutional Amendment

Relevant Case

Walsh v. Board of Admin.: 4 Cal. App. 4th 682: 6 Cal. Rptr. 2d 118, 1992; Knight v. Board of Admin. of the Pub. Employee's Retirement Sys.: 223 Cal. App. 3d 527: 273 Cal. Rptr. 120, 1990

Code Sections Affected

Amended Cal. Const. art. III, section 7

For Author

Wadie P. Deddeh, State Senator, 40th District Author of proposition; Leo T. McCarthy, Lieutenant Governor; Ernest Dronenburg, Member, State Board of Equalization, 3rd District

Against Author

Gary B. Wesley, Attorney at Law

Rebuttal Author

Gary B. Wesley, Attorney at Law

Rebuttal Against Author

Wadie F. Deddeh, State Senator, 40th District; Dan McCorquodale, State Senator, 12th District; Ernest Dronenburg, Member, State Board of Equalization, 3rd District